Published On: Wed, Jun 27th, 2018

Promises to the Electorate by Mexican Presidential Candidates

Share This

El prometer no empobrece – El dar es lo que aniquila,” a Spanish proverb (To promise does not impoverish – To give is what annihilates.)

Mexico has its presidential election on July 1st, less than a week away.  And there are four candidates.

These four candidates have been making promises – many promises.  Let’s take a look at some (by no means all) of them.

First, the four candidates are:

  1.           ANDRES MANUEL LOPEZ OBRADOR (AMLO) is the candidate of the party he himself founded, MORENA (Movimiento Regeneración Nacional), in coalition with the Partido del Trabajo, Labor Party (PT) and PES (Partido Encuentro Social).  The official name of the coalition is Juntos Haremos Historia (Together We Will Make History).
  2.           RICARDO ANAYA CORTES of the PAN (Partido Acción Nacional), in coalition with the leftist PRD (Partido de la Revolución Democrática) and the smaller Movimiento Ciudadano (Citizen Movement).  This coalition is called Por México al Frente (For Mexico to the Front).

III.          JOSE ANTONIO MEADE KURIBREÑA of the PRI (Partido Revolucionario Institucional), the party of current President Peña Nieto.  The PRI is in coalition with two smaller parties, the Green Party (Partido Verde Ecologista de México) and the Partido Nueva Alianza, the PNA or PANAL.  The official name of Meade’s coalition is Todos por México (Everybody for Mexico).

  1. JAIME HELIODORO RODRIGUEZ CALDERON, better known as “El Bronco.”  Although formerly of the PRI, Bronco is now an independent.

AMLO promises:

ANAYA promises:

MEADE promises:

BRONCO promise:


Arias Consultores (June 13-15): AMLO 62%, Anaya 19.8%, Meade 13.7%, Bronco 3.3%.
Oraculos (June 19): AMLO 50%, Anaya 27%, Meade 20%
Bloomberg Poll Tracker as of June 24: AMLO 50.8%, Anaya 24.8%, Meade 21.6%, Bronco 3.7%.


by Allan Wall, an educator, resided in Mexico for many years.  His website is located at



Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>