Published On: Tue, Oct 16th, 2018

Comonfort is the sixth Magical Town of Guanajuato

Share This

The Secretary of Tourism, Enrique de la Madrid Cordero declared the municipality of Comonfort as the sixth Magic Town of the state of Guanajuato.

This appointment was made during the Fourth Fair of Magical Towns that took place in Morelia, Michoacán showcasing the culture, gastronomy and crafts of Mexico.

The announcement was made in the presence of the governor of Guanajuato, Diego Sinhue; Teresa Matamoros Montes, State Secretary of Tourism; José Carlos Nieto Juárez, municipal president of Comonfort; José Luis Revilla, chairman of the municipality committee; and authorities of the 111 Magical Towns of Mexico.



Comonfort, is a privileged municipality in civil architecture and wealth in its scenic landscape, the genuineness of its inhabitants; It has natural resources that enhance the economic and tourist potential, mainly of indigenous and colonial origin that are mixed in an intercultural syncretism through religious and gastronomic manifestations.

After Enrique de la Madrid opened the call to join the national program Pueblo Mágico, 84 national aspirants signed up, of which 15 were finalists and 3 of them were from the state of Guanajuato: Acámbaro, Comonfort and Tarandacuao.

Comonfort won the appointment and is now the sixth Magic Town in the state, the others are: Dolores Hidalgo (declared in 2002), Mineral de Pozos (February 2012), Salvatierra (December 2012), Yuriria (December 2012) ) and Jalpa de Cánovas (December 2012).

Danzas indígenas Comonfort (Photo:

Danzas indígenas Comonfort (Photo:

SMT Newsroom with information from:



Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>